ISU World Cup Short Track Speed Skating

The ISU World Cup Short Track Speed Skating usually consists of six events (four during an Olympic season) which take place in North America, Europe and Asia. The World Cup Short Track Series was launched in 1997/98 and the Series celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2017.

The competitions have a single distance character and are held in separate sessions. The first day is dedicated to all Qualifying Rounds. On the second and third days the last Qualifying Rounds take place before the World Cup session. A and B Finals are held for each distance 500m, 1000m and 1500m. Skaters qualify for A and B Finals only through the Semi-Finals.  Men and Ladies also compete in the 3000m Team Relay races. Each team consists of four competing Skaters.

Skaters gain World Cup points from each distance they compete in during the ISU World Cup Short Track Speed Skating series. The Skater with the most World Cup points at the end of the season wins the distance World Cup.

To access Documents from the previous seasons, please visit our archives page.